Total Pageviews

Friday, September 2, 2011

315. 2011 MVCAP Scholarship Presentation

Many funders for 2011 MVCAP scholarships


Joe Rottenborn

Executive Director, Mahoning Valley College Access Program (MVCAP)

Several funders made possible the 2011 scholarships presented at the Ninth Annual Meeting of the Mahoning Valley College Access Program (MVCAP), held at Kent State University Trumbull on August 10, 2011.

First, The Frank and Pearl Gelbman Charitable Foundation financed Last-Dollar Scholarships for graduates of Mahoning County Schools. MVCAP Board Member David Sabine of Huntington Bank facilitated this grant.

Next, the Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley (CFMV) provided Last-Dollar Scholarship monies. CFMV President Patty Brozik, also a Member of the MVCAP Board, assisted with this funding.

In addition, the John S. and Doris M. Andrews Scholarship at the YSU Foundation supported a student who matriculated to Youngstown State University. MVCAP Honorary Founding Trustee Bill Bresnahan worked to establish this source.

Funding from the trust established through a grant to the MVCAP by KnowledgeWorks, via the Ohio College Access Network (OCAN), also provided scholarship dollars.

Support offered through the Trumbull County Scholarship Fund Trust at Huntington Bank financed scholarships for graduates of Trumbull County high schools. MVCAP Board Member Mike Craig assisted with this funding.

Finally, grant-dollars for graduates of Trumbull County high schools also came from the Education, Cultural and Civic Foundation of Warren Area Chamber of Commerce.

In its 10-year existence, the MVCAP has awarded over 175 scholarships, most for $1,000.

MVCAP Board President is Atty. Paul Dutton of Harrington, Hoppe, Mitchell, Ltd.; Board Vice-President is John Taylor of Paige and Byrnes Insurance Agency, Inc.

No comments:

Post a Comment